Charges for THC Vape Pen, Dabs & Wax in Pittsburgh
There are a number of ways to use marijuana. But unfortunately, there are also a lot of ways it can lead to criminal charges.
Vaping, dabbing, and smoking marijuana is incredibly popular, increasingly easy to get for medical marijuana patients in PA. And while our nation’s attitude towards cannabis is changing, marijuana remains a Schedule I controlled substance in Pennsylvania. As a result, many people don’t realize the serious trouble they face when arrested for possession of a THC vape pen, wax, or other forms of concentrate cannabis.
No matter the form, if you are arrested in Pittsburgh for marijuana possession, Worgul, Sarna & Ness, Criminal Defense Attorneys, LLC is here to help. We know the law and how to get the best possible result.
Possession of Drug Paraphernalia in Pennsylvania
You can be charged with possession of paraphernalia for having any item that may be used for ingesting, inhaling, or otherwise using drugs. The law is extremely broad and applies to otherwise legal items. As a result, a legal vape pen used to smoke marijuana would be considered drug paraphernalia in Pennsylvania.
You can also be charged with possession of paraphernalia, even if you are not charged with possession of marijuana. Furthermore, you can be charged with possession of paraphernalia even if the police did not actually see you use the vape pen.
Possession of a THC vape pen could mean up to one year in jail and a $2,500 fine if convicted.
Possession of Marijuana Pens, Das & Concentrates
If arrested for possession of a THC vape pen, you could be charged with possession of marijuana if had a cartridge with THC concentrate or you otherwise had marijuana on you.
While possession of marijuana is not the most serious drug charge, there are some significant differences when it comes to the concentrates like wax, BHO, shatter, oil, or vape pens.
For example, possession of 30 grams or less for regular marijuana is a misdemeanor, and you face up to 30 days in jail and $30 fine. If you have more than 30 grams, you face up to one year in jail and a fine of $5,000.
THC concentrates, on the other hand, draw the line at 8 grams. If you are arrested and possess more than 8 grams of THC concentrate, regardless of form means facing up to one year in jail and a fine of $5,000.
A Marijuana Lawyer Can Help
An arrest for possession of a THC vape pen could involve multiple charges.
You may be charged with possession of paraphernalia and possession of marijuana. They also could file separate paraphernalia charges for every item in your possession. For instance, if you have papers, a grinder, a pen, and an empty baggie it could result in four separate charges for paraphernalia.
In addition, if you have more than 8 grams of THC concentrate, you could be charged with drug trafficking.
Prosecutors are notorious for piling on as many charges as possible. Their strategy is generally to “overcharge” people to pressure you into pleading guilty to a lesser charge.
Hiring a marijuana lawyer levels the playing field. An experienced attorney will challenge your arrest, the evidence, and get inappropriate charges dismissed. They will speak on your behalf and represent you so that you can get a fair result.
Diversion programs that allow for dismissals and future expungement may also be an option for first-time offenders. With a lawyers help you can know your eligibility for such programs and how to get admitted.
Contact Worgul, Sarna & Ness, Criminal Defense Attorneys, LLC
You might think that your marijuana charge is nothing to worry about. But even simple possession can result in jail time and a drug conviction on your permanent record. Let the attorneys at Worgul, Sarna & Ness, Criminal Defense Attorneys, LLC help you get the best possible outcome.
We provide clients with high-quality, aggressive legal representation, which may be the difference in your case. To schedule a free consultation, contact us at (412) 281-2146 to learn more about how we can help you.