DUI Consequences for Licensed Professionals
In professions where you need a license to practice, a DUI conviction can turn into a career-ender. You may be disciplined or have to undergo an uncomfortable hearing to continue in your occupation. Your license can be suspended or revoked. You can also be denied a license for a profession you have studied for years to enter. Below we have gathered information to help you understand the DUI consequences for licensed professionals.
Those with a CDL, including truck, bus and taxi drivers, can be arrested for driving under the influence if their BAC is .04 or more. You can lose both your CDL and your personal driver’s license for a year if you were charged while driving your own vehicle, and you may lose it for two years if you were driving a commercial vehicle. (Learn more about what happens to your driver’s license after a DUI.)Your suspension will be three years if you were transporting hazardous chemicals. With a second DUI offense, you can lose your CDL for life. Even if you take Accelerated Rehabilitative Disposition (ARD) you can still lose your license. There are strict penalties for DUI with a CDL.
When they renew their dental licenses, dentists need to report any DUI convictions. Those applying for their first license also have to disclose whether they have been convicted of DUI. The Pennsylvania State Board of Dentistry reviews each case and decides the consequences on an individual basis.
In most cases, doctors have to appear before a medical board hearing where their fitness to practice medicine will be assessed. If the board decides you are unfit to practice, or if you do not disclose a DUI conviction, you can lose your license. Your malpractice insurance rates may also go up.
EMTs have to report DUI convictions within 30 days to the Pennsylvania Department of Health, and after doing so their EMT licenses may be suspended. Those convicted of DUI in Pennsylvania within a previous four-year period will probably not be able to obtain EMT certification.
If you have a DUI conviction, you have to report it to the Supreme Court of Pennsylvania’s Disciplinary Board or risk losing your bar license. With a DUI conviction, your malpractice insurance rates will likely go out.
Are you a law student? A DUI conviction can prevent you from sitting for the bar exam in most jurisdictions.
Nurses have to report a DUI plea, conviction or participation in ARD, to the Pennsylvania State Board of Nursing when their license is renewed. You can be disciplined.
Pharmacists have to report DUI convictions to the Pennsylvania State Board of Pharmacy. Individuals are assessed on a case-by-case basis, and you may be required to take a treatment program.
Licensed pilots have to report DUI convictions to the Federal Aviation Administration and the Civil Action Security Division within 60 days. If you don’t, your pilot’s license can be suspended or revoked.
Police and Fire Fighters
Each municipality or fire department handles DUI in its own way, and you may be disciplined, suspended, or terminated for your DUI conviction.
Each school system handles DUI in its own way, although you risk losing your teaching license if drugs were involved.